My Mac G4/M-audio/ProTools situation...

lo beam

I'm kind of new to the whole world of computer recording, coming from more of a tape & then digital 16 track DAW background...but pretty soon I'm going to have a g4 Powermac ( 450 cpu, 512 ram) to play with.
I'm going to run ProTools Free on it ( can't afford full blown PT just yet) & I have a little audioBuddy pre. I'm also thinking about getting a better soundcard - something like the Audiophile 2496 or delta 44.

So...will these cards be compatible with my set-up? And - forgive me - how do they connect up?? I'll be mainly recording using mics so I go into my AudioBuddy via XLR cables, then out via 1/4" jacks and then....? Where? I'm a bit confused by all the inputs & outputs I see on those cards.

Thanks..

lo beam said:
Ibut pretty soon I'm going to have a g4 Powermac ( 450 cpu, 512 ram) to play with.
I'm going to run ProTools Free on it ( can't afford full blown PT just yet) & I have a little audioBuddy pre. I'm also thinking about getting a better soundcard - something like the Audiophile 2496 or delta 44.

So...will these cards be compatible with my set-up?

Check the following link:

http://www.digidesign.com/ptfree/ptfree_qa.html

Yeah, I know my G4 will be compatible with PTFREE...and it looks like the 2496 will be too...I was more concerned with whether the card would work ok with the Mac & how it all hooks up. I'm assuming some sort of 1/4" jack>rca cable?

Ta.

Yes, you will need RCA to 1/4" (TS) cables from the preamp to the soundcard.

You will also have to be running Mac OS 9 to use Pro Tools Free.

lo beam said:
Yeah, I know my G4 will be compatible with PTFREE...and it looks like the 2496 will be too...I was more concerned with whether the card would work ok with the Mac & how it all hooks up. I'm assuming some sort of 1/4" jack>rca cable?

Ta.