MOTU 828 vs Digi001

Elonvocals

Hi Everyone!
This is my first posting here...and I'm looking forward to getting some good feedback.

I'm planning on putting together a small home computer studio and have narrowed my purchase choice to either the MOTU 828 (with Firewire) or the Digi001. Has anyone had experience with either or both of these pieces of equipment and can give me pros & cons to each? I'm basically looking for stability, bang for the buck, etc...

I'm new to the digital audio recording world so any help would be much appreciated. I have a PIII 660MHz PC with 256MB of RAM. Should I plan on getting a Mac instead? I've heard that Macs are much better for audio recording than PCs. Is this true?

I'm looking forward to hearing all of your comments!

Mac's are better, they are more stable. MOTU only works with a Mac if I am correct. The Digi 001 works with both Mac and PC, but works best with a Mac.

I don't know every feature for the Digital P, but I can say that the Digi001 will most likely be a better investment. You can even record at a TOP NOTCH studio with ProTOols, then bring it home to your digi001 and mix it there, or it could be the other way around. I have heard that ProTools has better editing capablilities, but you can't expand with the Digi001.

The Digi001 is cheaper, with better software. I say go with the Digi 001. My $0.02 worth. :D

Tech 21 SansAmp Bass Driver DI Auction! No Reserve, Hurry!! :) ;)

Thanks frank_1!!!
What kind of Mac should I get? I won't have a whole lotta cash after buying either Digi001 or MOTU...so what's the minimum specs I should look for? Keep in mind I'm going to be recording anywhere from 8 to 16 tracks. Mostly keyboard, lots of vocals, and maybe an acoustic guitar.

What?