Motu 16 - Pro Tools- speaker problems

Mrblue

Hi, first time poster here, not sure whether this question should be in this section, so if I am wrong I apologise.

Anyway I have a sound craft desk going into a motu 16a then two sets of monitors coming out of the motu channels 1/2 3/4

In pro tools I am having difficulty switching between monitors i.e. Output 1/2 and 3/4

Sometimes both are audible, other times I can mute one speaker. Or one set will come out louder.

There must be something in the I/o I am not setting up right. I know it's vague, but I am fairly new to pro tools so any assistance would be much appreciated.

Many thanks for taking the time to read.

Hi,

In Protools you can go to Setup > IO and see what's what.
This can get messy because Protools will remember settings and paths from other sessions and previous hardware.

It's not a bad idea to just select all, delete, then hit default for the input and output tab. This will ensure that the I/O is accurate for the device that's chosen.

For monitor switching, there's a few ways you can go. Protools generally has one pair as master and every track sends to that pair.
The master track, if you make one, is also associated with that pair.

Switching this involves changing the output for every track which is a one click job unless you have tracks outputting to buses, then it's a mess.
It's be much easier to do the switch via Motu software, if it has its own routing, or a hardware monitor controller.

Another option is to set your default output to bus 1+2 so every new track is sent there, then use an aux track instead of a master.
That way you can switch whether that Aux goes to hardware 1+2 or hardware 3+4 in two clicks.

Honestly, I don't know why protools doesn't just have that built in to their master faders.

Hope that's useful.

Thanks for the reply.