The Mother of All "Which Computer Should I Buy" threads

Reilley

I'm a beginner. I'm going to build a PC-based DAW, to run something like
Sonar + Ableton + an editor, with a decent interface [PCI or USB 2]
providing not more than 4 inputs, and maybe only two, since I'm going to be more or less doing my own projects, one track at a time. I need some advice on buying a computer.

I don't have a big budget, so it will be a mom and pop PC, [Compaq or other,] not a specialized unit. The questions which I need answered are:

1) Lots of posters seem to run more than one hard drive. Why? How desireable is this? Will most Best Buy/Future Shop type of computers have a bay available?

2) Lots of posters and writers run two monitors. I have two CRTs. What upgrading is required to do this, and how necessary is it?

3) Will all such common computers allow installation of a PCI interface card, without complication?

4) Is a dual-core pretty well necessary? One 'expert' told me that you need lots of computing horsepower not for recording, but for output, since you may have a zillion tracks of output. Another said not so, you can input a zillion, output is still stereo.

Thanks very much for any advice.

Reilley said:
I'm a beginner. I'm going to build a PC-based DAW, to run something like
Sonar + Ableton + an editor, with a decent interface [PCI or USB 2]
providing not more than 4 inputs, and maybe only two, since I'm going to be more or less doing my own projects, one track at a time. I need some advice on buying a computer.

I don't have a big budget, so it will be a mom and pop PC, [Compaq or other,] not a specialized unit. The questions which I need answered are:

1) Lots of posters seem to run more than one hard drive. Why? How desireable is this? Will most Best Buy/Future Shop type of computers have a bay available?