Mic Level Recording Questions

josh044

I'm a beginner at recording, and there are a couple things that I'm confused about...

An intro to my recording setup; I have an sm57 hooked into a Focusrite Saffire firewire interface into an older mac.

So, anyhow, all this to lead up to the question; it seems I have to turn the gain almost all the way up at times to get an acceptable level. As I get near the maxing the gain out I notice a sudden difference in the background noise. I go from hearing no background noise, to a lot of background noise. What side of hearing background noise should I record on? Is that background noise reflecting a better accuracy of getting noise, or should I back off the gain once I cross that threshold?

Also, is it normal to have to turn the gain up that high? I heard good things about the pres prior to buying the Saffire, but I'm not sure if this is normal. Should I add another pre-amp into the chain?

I know this is sort of myriad of questions. Any help would be great. Thanks!

Describing levels with imprecise terms like "acceptable" and "low" doesn't really say anything useful. Look at the meters in your software and give us some actual numbers with applicable units (for example "-20dBFS peak").

Changing the gain doesn't change the relationship between different sounds that a mic picks up. If the sounds you don't want are 10dB lower than the sounds you do want they will stay that way at any gain setting on your preamp. Set your gain so the signal peaks at or below -12dBFS.

Changing the gain doesn't change the relationship between different sounds that a mic picks up. If the sounds you don't want are 10dB lower than the sounds you do want they will stay that way at any gain setting on your preamp. Set your gain so the signal peaks at or below -12dBFS.
Spot on advice. Another thought is that you may need some acoustic treatment for your room or change the mic placement to lower the background noise.