Which Mac should one buy?

WalrusWasPaul

Ello there, I hope you're all bloody good.

I recently recorded a song on GarageBand, (I have access to another daw which came with my Focusrite but I'm quite happy with simplicity at the moment). I've purchased waves abbey road and kontakt Alicia's keys. I have maybe 7 tracks running but each with 5 plugins, overkill probably.. but I'm new to this!

I've borrowed my brothers Mac, late 2009 8gb ram and garage band is seriously not handling it!! Lots of popping, overload errors etc. I've decided to spend my savings on a new Mac. What should I look out for, I intend to use a lot of plugins to make up for my lack of skill. What specifics should I be looking for in a Mac? Ram or ghz? Do I need to save my plug ins to an ext hard drive.

I figured writing the song was the hardpart.. This feels like navigating a minefield with my eyes blindfolded whilst I'm being foced onto said field by a sumo wrestler.

Any reply would be welcome and is rewarded with good karma

Much love

Hi,
First off, Garageband is a toy and lacks the features which let you get the best from your hardware.
Most recording suites will let you adjust audio buffer sizes.
Large buffer size = high latency (delay when recording) but high performance.
Small buffer size = low latency and lower performance, hardware depending.

With clicks and pops and what not, the first thing you'd usually do is check your buffer size settings but, as far as I know, garageband doesn't let you do that.

What mac do you have, specifically. Model and cpu model/speed, please.
Regardless, I'd try the DAW that came with your focusrite, or Reaper, before buying anything. :)

Hi,
First off, Garageband is a toy and lacks the features which let you get the best from your hardware.
Most recording suites will let you adjust audio buffer sizes.
Large buffer size = high latency (delay when recording) but high performance.
Small buffer size = low latency and lower performance, hardware depending.