Which Mac Notebook for location recording

jgourd

I have been using a Dell Insperon for a few years doing mobile recording. I am thinking that perhaps a used iBook might do a little better for me.

If anyone has experience with an iBook let me know. I need to know what the recommended hardware configuration is before I start hittin' eBay for decent machines.

My current interface is an M-Audio 410 and a Hammerfall HDSP.

I'd recommend a Powerbook. It has a higher bus speed, which allows more data flow that could prove useful in multi-tracking. Just throwing the idea out there. A G4 iBook would put up a good fight with a Dell though... I've heard/seen nothing but bad things about Inspirons.

The Inspeon was recommended by RME for use with the Hammerfall and I have no problems in that respect.

When I got the Firewire interface is when I noticed subtle glitches. The Dell won't power the 410 but I bet the Mac would.

jgourd said:
I have been using a Dell Insperon for a few years doing mobile recording. I am thinking that perhaps a used iBook might do a little better for me.

If anyone has experience with an iBook let me know. I need to know what the recommended hardware configuration is before I start hittin' eBay for decent machines.

My current interface is an M-Audio 410 and a Hammerfall HDSP.

You do realize Apple will switch over to Intel processors on all systems, especially laptops in the next 2 years, right?

I would rather stick with Intel/MS at this point and see what develops. All Apple laptops are G4 based (in other words, outdated) currently and I see no reason for Apple to push for a G5 laptop given the end of its relationship with IBM.

I'd get the new Intel Centrino PowerBook coming out next year. Judging by Intel's roadmap, it'll more than likely have a dual core Pentium M at 2Ghz+

Yes, I know all about the move to Intel. Since this will be a lightweight notebook for stereo recordings only, I was thinking that $500 worth of used Mac would be suffice.