Looking to set up home recording, no idea where to start...

eventide

Hey,

I'm looking to get a home recording set up as a surprise for my girlfriend but I have literally no idea where to start other than the fact I have a decent pc already.

So far I've ascertained that I need to get a mic (duh) & a preamp, but I've got no idea what else, or even which mic etc to buy. Also need a sound card since I run on on-board sound atm, but not sure which would be the best.

I'm pretty pc savvy but totally clueless on the music side of things, that's the forte of my better half, so if anyone could give me a little list of what I need and any recommendations that would be absolutely fantastic.

My budget isn't huge, I'm a poor student but I'm not averse to scouring ebay for bargains :) Also I'm based in the UK.

Thank you very much for any/all help!

Generally speaking the 'sound card' and preamps would be rolled into one unit, at entry level at least.
You'd be searching for "audio interface"
If you're looking at condenser mics, the interface will need phantom power.

What will she be recording, and what does she already own if anything.

Is there any way you can get hints from her or her family, cos If she already knows a bit about this, It'd be very easy to buy her something she doesn't want/like.

A reasonable beginner interface and microphone could be in the region of £2-300. Is that within your budget?
There are cheaper alternatives (google usb mics) but they're not often recommended for quality.

A lot of people get them for podcasts and work like that.

Let us know.

It'll be mostly vocals for just now, and she doesn't know anything about the tech side of it, or have anything already- this is me giving her a kick up the rear end to get going on her music again after moving away from home!