Looking for an inexpensive audio interface

fwrunner2017

Hi all;
I am not a professional, but enjoy making "radio /dj style" mixes and adding fx to songs I have ripped from cd's or purchased one way or another.
I am currently using the on-board sound system on my Windows 7 (also have Win 10 dual boot) system, which is Realtek "High Definition" and uses the ALC892 chip.

I have been playing around with the trial version of Reaper, and have found that my sound system has too much latency to record anything live (I thought I might want to connect a microphone, or use a line-in source). I installed ASIO4ALL, VB VoiceMeeter Banana, and VB Virtual Audio Cable so I could have Reaper running with ASIO and still hear other Windows audio (like YouTube tutorial vids). This setup works fine for me, but I definitely think I need a better audio system.

I prefer the Interface rather than a PCI card; mainly because it is almost impossible for me to get behind my PC to connect or disconnect a cable without falling into the mess and breaking everything... and because I don't want to be stuck to PCI if my next PC build doesn't have PCI slots (I've read that PCI is disappearing in favour of PCIE).

As for input/outputs, I need line-in so I can connect various devices that have line level outputs. I don't have any instruments at all. I know that the Behringer UMC202HD can be set to either instrument or line level, which would work perfectly for me. And having the mic preamp would be nice, since I might want to play around with recording my own voice and adding fx.
I'm not sure what the difference between Line and Instrument and Mic levels are. Both the Behringer and the Steinberg have buttons to set the input impedance (Behringer labels theirs Line/Inst, while Steinberg calls it High-Z). I am going to assume that either of these products will work.