Linux DAW ???

Are there any worth a hoot?

I think that Microsoft is close to not caring about anybody except phone users, which wil lbe a business decision and not a moral one which will hurt my feeling, but I think it may happen.

Linux, anyone? I don't know anything about the stuff, except that users wear red hats.

:cool:

I've tinkered with a few distros.
I'd strongly encourage against it unless you have some familiarity already.
It has the potential to be beautiful and flawless. It also has the potential to be a complete pain in the ass.

Have a google for Ubuntu Studio 14.04.
It comes bundled with a lot of cool tools. Ardour is one of them.
I have no experience with it, but it's talked about often when Linux DAWs come up.
I think there's a live CD option with Ubuntu studio so at least you can check it out without much hassle and see if your hardware is compatible.

First, make sure your audio interface will work. Second, there are a couple (Tractor 5 and Ardour) are the only ones I know. MS or Apple is your best bet still at this point. Once the hardware/software vendors support the Linux OS, then I think there will have a great third choice (actually first choice), but now not a viable choice.

I've been dabbling in ecasound for a year or so. (CLI mixer rather than a GUI one like Ardour). I can't entirely say I recommend the idea. Getting a functional environment that has all the features I need has been kind of a nightmare.

Getting a functional environment that has all the features I need has been kind of a nightmare.

This is exactly my problem. I LOVE the freedom and flexibility that Reason gives (and the extreme ease of use). But then you're limited to using Propellerheads plugs...I use Reaper for mastering two track mixes and for SSD. Just wish they'd open up an external VST bridge...