Lenovo Thinkserver Desktop Strong Enough?

derekp

I've been looking into this desktop
Amazon.com: Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 i3-4130 3.4GHz 8GB 1TB 7200rpm HDD Server Desktop Computer: Computers & Accessories

I currently run AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ 3006 Mhz, 2 Cores, 2 Logical Processors
Total physical memory 6 GB
Available 4.46 GB
Total Virtual 12 GB
Available Virtual 9.63 GB

System model GA-MA69GM-S2H

I use Reason 4 (with a paid upgrade to 7, but I couldn't run it on this machine without it crashing). I use Adobe Audition 3 to record, but have been trying other programs. I'm a hip hop artist that uses an audio interface (lately, but for years I've used an Echo MIA Midi soundcard), behringer mixer, and a M-Audio 2nd Generation 49 key midi controller.

Please let me know if this is a good enough upgrade or if I should keep looking.

No. Now I only know what others has said but they were CLEVER others!

That Lenovo only has an i3 processor. The laptop I am typing on is an i3 HP (8G ram) and handles 20 or so tracks of Cubase ok but will then be running over 50% of CPU load, were I to load in a very few effects I am sure it would crash. Had you already GOT the PC I would be saying it would serve but used with care and a good bit of housekeeping. You are looking for a replacement and the experts say, "go for a fast processor". i5 or i7. From what I read, an i5 would probably be easily fast enough especially if the PC was "stripped and clean".

But, A.A? I have AA 1.5 and I and especially Son find it useful but for MIDI work?

Dave.