laptop vs. desktop

laptop vs. desktop

• laptop

Votes: 9 29.0%
  • desktop

Votes: 22 71.0%

• Total voters
How many of us have both? *raises hand*

Many use both, that should've been an option. Dammit man, what's wrong with you? :D j/k

Are you planning to get a laptop or desktop, or do you just want to know? If you want a reason why we use either a laptop or desktop, let us know, you fellow belgian!

no, i've made up my mind long time ago and went for the laptop since i do gigs as well (not many but still...). i was just curious about it since no one on hr.com ever seems to mention laptops. i had the impression it's all about studio buffs with their massive desktop setups but the results so far seem to tell something different (even though 3 out of 6 is hardly statisticly significant).

:) allways nice to meet other belgians abroad :)

:mad: btw you gave up the secret hiding place :mad:

FattMusiek said:
I'm no expert on laptobs, but they suck.

Thanks, bye.

ummmm.....let me think.....NO!!!

They do have their disadvatages but they surely don't suck, at least not now. It's true that laptops used to be behind the eight ball, but they are a lot better now a days

nothin' against laptops, but i sold mine for a powerhouse PC i built from scratch for cheap and can upgrade freely...and i'm not lookin' back!

Both

I use both. I'll be taking my laptop with me on an airplane this weekend. Can't do that with a PC. My laptop has a 2.2 Athlon chip, 40 gig HD, and 512 megs of memory. I can fit my laptop, my layla, my preamps and my mics/cables in a carry on bag, and take it anywhere.
Paul Garvin

Desktop.
Won't be switching to a laptop any time soon, even if I would start recording on location.
Proper preamps, cables, mic stands, AC power (you can't have it all draining your laptop battery or it's dead before the thing has finished booting), you need to add those to any rig. And a proper soundcard for laptops inevitably comes with some kind of breakout box.