Interface suggestions?

jeremyandstuff

Another newbie question here...

As stated in my previous post, I am a longtime home recordist who is finally looking to upgrade all of my primitive gear after many, many years. Since I am primarily a guitarist, I previously used the Line 6 UX2 interface for all of my instruments since that's what I started out on a decade ago.

I am currently looking at a couple of simple interface options to go with my new setup: either the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 or the PreSonus Audio Box iTwo. These both seem to be very popular and well-regarded models.

I record mostly by myself and never need to record more than one instrument at a time, so I don't need anything too fancy. I basically record electric guitar, acoustic guitar, bass, keyboards and occasional vocals. And that's about it. I can't imagine needing anything with more than 2 instrument/mic inputs. I'm guessing that most of the time, I'll just be using 1, but I want to have the option to use a couple of mics on acoustic guitar parts.

So... Does anyone have a preference when it comes to Focusrite vs. PreSonus? Seems like they have very similar specs, and maybe one doesn't necessarily have a big advantage over the other (I'm leaning toward Focusrite at the moment). Or maybe you have some recommendations for other low-priced interfaces? Thanks.

I have no personal experience of the Line 6 gear but some investigations a few weeks ago revealed it to be pretty good and most notably, having low latency.
This is vital if you want to play along with previously recorded tracks (if you don't or won't use software sounds, ignore this!) .

I have no idea how low the latency can be wrought on either of the interfaces you mention but one I do know will work is the Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6. Very low latency and super stable drivers. Yes, it has two extra line inputs and outputs you didn't ask for but add a small mixer and you have 4 track recording!

Dave.