Interface buying advice for flute solo

RossoCarne

I've been looking for a good audio interface for recording flute and piano with some midi color. Most of what my partner and I plan are modern classical 'soundtrack' style, Gaelic / Irish, and some Romantic era classical. As such, here's what I figure is important:

- Some places I've read say flutes require a lot of clean preamp to sound good, so a high range is ideal
- The music will not be dense so any imperfections in quality, noise clicks etc, will come through
- 4 input would be nice for both of us to record simultaneously but is not as important.

I'd love to stay under $250 but I think I can swing $350 if it's worth it. I'm just starting out with this so nothing special is necessary.

My initial shortlist is
- Presonus 22VSL / 44VSL - this was the initial recommendation of a friend who records. The studio one software seems intuitive for a moron like me. However bad reviews abound about sub par sound on amazon etc.

- NI Komplete 6 - reviews say it has great sound quality but driver stability issues.

- Roland Quad capture - on paper this seems like the best for the price but I get worried that it isn't more popular among users and reviewers. Maybe this is because it's newer but I'm not sure.

Again I've never recorded on any of these so I'm going in blind with all this. Thanks for the help.

First thoughts:

1 Any contemporary interface is going to deliver great quality. These days, an interface's impact on the sound is dwarfed by other factors (such as the room acoustics, recording techniques and performance).

2. Imperfections in 'quality, noise clicks etc' can arise from the performance. Either live with them or improve the performance. They can also arise from the system, i.e. the interface and the computer not playing nicely together. Mostly this is a set up problem and mostly can be fixed, but it is not intrinsically a part of any interface.