How does the Delta 66 soundcard rate?

Walter Tore

I bought this soundcard a couple years ago, when I went to computer based recording. It is also the only soundcard I have experienced. I recently upgraded my mics (got 2 - AKG C414's) and am in the process of upgrading my preamps( got an EH 12AY7). I have been using a RODENT-1A, AT 3035, MXLV57, Audix OM-2, and 1- ART TPS and 1 ART TPSII preamps. I record everything live, in the same room, 4 tracks. I am thinking of going to 5-8 tracks(all still live). Should I buy another delta 66, or is there one out there that will give me this many tracks, and noticable sound quality improvement? My budget is open to prices that will compliment the quality of my new gear upgrades. I am still a beginner at all this, so I thank you all in advance! Walter

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/7/waltertoresspontobeat.htm

Just want to give my experience.

I used a Delta44 for a really long time. Once I actually learned about the recording process and my mixes improved, I got alot of comments about how clean my mixes sounded from people who use alot better equipment. Many people have been suprised at the quality the Delta cards can produce in the right hands. I really believe you have to have some really high end equipment for the Delta to become the weak link in your chain.

H2H

Thanks for the reply H2H! Like I said, I have no idea where the delta 66 stands in the way of soundcards. I may end up buying another one, to give me up to 8 channels. What are you using now? Any other comments on this would be welcomed. Thanks
Walter

here is a link to my music. The last week or so of recordings, have been with me fiddling with the new electro harmonix mic preamp.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/7/waltertoresspontobeat.htm