How do I use an external hard drive?

dudleys100

Howdie. Welcome to my newbie question. I want to get an 7200 hard drive and put it in a firewire enclosure (for future upgrading). I am using a laptop with a 10 gig in it already. I need to know how I use this external HD for recording. For example, can I have a seperate OS on the external and use it independantly, or is it just an extention of my current hard drive. Do I use it like a partition? I would like to have this drive totally clean other than audio. I would also like to be able to reformat my current hard drive, without affecting the external. I am new to this and need help in simple terms, if you can give me some advice, I would really appreciate it.

As far as the way the drive will look in the operating system, you'll have a new drive letter like your CDRom, D: or E:, or something along those lines. So, now instead of having like C:\MyProjects\Song1, you'll have E:\MyProjects\Song1, where E: is the drive letter that Windows (or whatever) assigns the new drive.

The recommondation seems to be to put ONLY audio files on a dedicated disk (ie your external FireWire drive) for best performance when multi-tracking. However, if you're all so looking to store other stuff that you are sure won't be used during recording on that drive, i think that would be fine. Things like documents and archives won't affect performance simply just being on the drive, only if they are accessed while recording.

How are you getting audio into your laptop BTW?

Later.
Mo.

Oh, and as the formating goes, formating disk will be seperate. So, if you have a bunch of stuff on your external (call it E:) and you decide to say install a new operating system on C:, you won't affect the data on E: when you reformat C:. However! You won't be able to access the data on E: until you have a valid operating system on C:.

Mo.