How best to record the band on separate tracks ?

wuzzo

668- the neighbour of the beast
Hello
I'm a bit of a newb but I received excellent advice here on choosing speakers to match our Behringer PMP6000 active mixer for live performance- so I thought I'd ask this question here;
We want to record ' live '- all playing together at home- and I'm just putting the PMP monitor output into my existing PC audio interface, which is a Roland Quad Capture- but of course it's ' ready mixed ' to one track and we don't have the option of ' sculpting ' the vocals/instruments individually.

Where do we go from here to achieve more recording/editing control ?

Quite simply you need a multitrack audio interface and the best bang for buck is the Tascam range.

The Tascam US-1608 has 8 mic inputs but can take several more line inputs (you just might be able to use the Roland as a two input mic preamp. )

Naturally you will also need at least 8 microphones, the cables and stands! Put a few sets of headphones on the shopping list as well AND a 4 (minimum) output headphone amplifier.

As you can see, although the actual interface is pretty reasonable, £200 ish for 16 tracks, the ancillaries add up! Then, although I have never had the kit to try it, I doubt multirack recording is exactly easy?

There is a bit of a get out. If (and only if!) your band is very good in the sense that you can produce a good balance for yourselves such that a punter 10 mtrs away is getting a good impression of a 'tight' band AND can understand the vocals, you could try a simple stereo pair setup about where aforementioned punter would be. Google 'Co-Incident Stereo Recording'.

Dave.

How many inputs of the Behringer are you using? Is there anything else you need to capture that isn't in the mixer, like a guitar amp that's loud enough on its own or drum overheads? Add those sources up and you'll know how many inputs you'll need on the interface.