Hook up Help on Mackie 1402 Mixer

jayef1969

Please would somebody help me. I bought a Mackie 1402 pro mixer. I have a T.C.Electronics Vocal Prism Plus (for singing and background effects) that has a left and right output and a SPDIF in and out jacks. I have a Denon 3202 tuner/amp (that I use VCR-1 in and out jacks) that I use to boost the singing and etc. I want to hookup up my mixer into the Creative labs Sound Blaster X-Fi fatility card on my computer that only has a line in and a line out. I want to be able to mix from my mixer but at the same time use the Denon to amplipy the sound. I would appreciate anybodys help. I am new to mixing and I really don't even know what buttons to push or what to mute and etc. I am sure there is someone that can help me.

Thank You
Jaye
Everett, WA

--------------------
Thanks

Jaye
Everett, WA

Ethan Winer said:
Jaye,

> Please would somebody help me. I bought a Mackie 1402 pro mixer. <

See Using a Mixer With a DAW, first in the list on my Articles page:

www.ethanwiner.com/articles.html

It was written specifically for you. :D

--Ethan

Awesome job Ethan ... you answered 90% of my questions. The only other thing I wanted to ask is:

I have a similar setup as the one you referred to in the article (Layla 24/ 1402VLZ)......I also use a SB Live for Midi and synth which I run back into the Mackie on 2 line level channels (in addition to a VCR, Keyboard, etc).... If I still wanted to do this with the setup you described, would you just connect these line level devices to the preamp channels or keep them where they are and just send the main outs of the Mackie to 2 input channels on the interface? Hopefully this makes sense and thanks again!

ED,

> I also use a SB Live for Midi and synth which I run back into the Mackie <

I already answered you by email, but for the benefit of others with the same question, I'll repeat my reply below.

--Ethan