Help - Monitoring from Tascam Us-1800 In Reaper

mrbrownstone

This is my first post here. I'm still fairly new to home recording. I've recently upgraded from my old 2 channel interface to the Tascam US-1800. I jsut got it last week, and had it setup, working fine. I was able to record track from any input, and play them back through the headphone no issue. I decided to today to go out and invest in a proper set on monitors (Yorkville YSM5's to be exact). I hooked them up to the monitor outs on the back of the Tascam, but I get nothing. The headphones on the front of the interface work fine, just nothing through the monitors.

I tried turning the record monitoring button on but nothing happens. I've got it setup with the ASIO driver. Any ideas what might be going on here?

Thanks!

SP

This is my first post here. I'm still fairly new to home recording. I've recently upgraded from my old 2 channel interface to the Tascam US-1800. I jsut got it last week, and had it setup, working fine. I was able to record track from any input, and play them back through the headphone no issue. I decided to today to go out and invest in a proper set on monitors (Yorkville YSM5's to be exact). I hooked them up to the monitor outs on the back of the Tascam, but I get nothing. The headphones on the front of the interface work fine, just nothing through the monitors.

I tried turning the record monitoring button on but nothing happens. I've got it setup with the ASIO driver. Any ideas what might be going on here?

Thanks!

SP

Hmmm. I don't use Reaper and am not familiar with it.
Do you have to set up an output bus?

Thanks!

SP

The 'Monitor Out' on the 1800 is a mirror image output of the headphone output. Just as a balanced LINE OUT. In other words it combines OUT 1/2 with the direct signal just like the headphone output does. The 'MIX' knob on the front of the 1800 controls it's output.