Help! Computer to Mixer and back to computer

nemal

I want to take multiple audio output from cakewalk, send it to my Yamaha Promix 01 digital mixer (all In and Out's are audio, not digital, except a single coaxial stereo out), mix down and then feed it back into my computer.

Can that be done? I am new to this stuff.
I plan on buying a Echo Layla. I'm hoping that will allow
me to simultaneously playback from the computer and then mix it and send it back to other tracks.

I will be upgrading to a better computer in a few days, but for now I have a 200MHz Pentium, running Windows 95, and a very cheap sound card that I think is duplexed, but I'm not sure.

The problem is, with my current sound card, anything that goes into it is mixed with what is coming out. I know this because I can hear it. So, if I have sounds coming out of my computer, going through my mixer, and then back to the computer I get a feedback loop that isn't healthy for my equipment. Will the Layla let me record data without sending it back out? Am I even making sense? Am I going about this all wrong?

Thanks for any help.