Going crazy over latency

Big Thier

Hi, this is my first post. I'll try to make this short: I'm using an Audio Technica AT3035 condenser mic, which is hooked up with an XLR cable to my Roland Edirol UA-25EX soundcard, which is hooked up to the PC with a USB cable. My problem is: I'm dealing with occasional latency. To put it simply, the sound coming out the headphones is delayed of like 1/4 second, so whenever somebody records vocals, they're slightly offbeat. But sometimes, around 20% of the time, it will be right on beat. No latency. But then the next day, it's delayed again. I've pretty much tried everything to fix it, buffer sizes, enabling/disabling stuff (I'm a noob at this), I called all the music stores in my area, I even paid someone online to help me, but it never went away. I'm recording in Acoustica Mixcraft 2 (I know) but I have the same problem recording with Audacity. Also, I'm not even using VST's or any effects while recording, or running a lot of programs at the same time. I'm on Windows 7. In Mixcraft, I choose the Edirol soundcard as the recording IN, and for the playback OUT. I hope this makes sense. Looking forward to your suggestions.

1 Check that there are no background applications that may interfere with your recording (e.g. wifi, virus checkers, screen savers). If it is happening intermittently, then maybe this might be the cause.

2 Use direct monitoring as mjb suggested. Plug monitors and headphones in to the Edirol and use that.

With "Direct Monitoring" on there should be zero latency (you're routing your input signals direct to your headphones without going via the computer) so something is clearly going on here.

The first thing I'd do is go to the Roland site and download/install their latest drivers.