Gear Shaming

Pinky

and The Brain...
This response got me thinking it might be a topic worthy of discussing at greater length...

https://homerecording.com/bbs/gener...res-make-difference-you-390518/4/#post4411492

There seems to be a degree of gear shaming, or at least perception of this, with some members on this forum. "Oh you don't have/use that? Then there's no way you can get a professional or even decent sound."

What about the other side of this? I'd like to hear from the members, like myself, who use a relatively minimalist setup and achieve good results from it.

When I joined the forum many years ago, I came here as a complete newb to the digital age and like so many others accumulated a tremendous amount of experience and knowledge since then. But fundamentally my gear, to this day, leans toward the budget and cost/benefit side. [Fwiw - I've strategically spent most of my money on software in the past 3 years]

The proof is in the product you create. If it sounds good, who cares how it was achieved. I would even go as far as to say someone should be praised for achieving a good recording on budget equipment. There was a member on here years ago (Erland) that wrote and recorded acoustic folk songs on his portable digital recorder. While not studio quality, they were great recordings none-the-less. He knew the basics and more importantly had great material. He didn't need much more than fundamentals and $1000 in total gear to create great stuff. [as an example of what I'm thinking]

Yes?

No?

Thoughts?