Firewire interface & windows 8

Dark Star Balla

I finally upgraded my PC and went with windows 8. Now I'm catching hell trying to install my Tascam fw-1884 drivers and I keep getting the message I can not install with this version of windows. I am extremely PO'd. I have read posts stating windows 8 does not support firewire? WTH is that about??! Does anyone use windows with a firewire interface would love it more to hear from people using the fw-1884.

If I were you, I would go get W7 and install it on your upgraded PC. Manufacturers don't tend to go out of their way, to keep up with MS new products.

What made you decide to go with W8 anyway?

Sorry, I have no experience with your interface, but I am sure someone will have some direct advice. Best...

Well, I decided to go with 8 because I had been on XP and did not really want to let it go but figured I would jump to the newest so I would not have to worry about upgrading for another 3, 4 or even 5 years like I did with XP. Just figured with the newest OS they would at the very least have compatible drivers for older "FireWire" interfaces. go fig... ?? Who pays $100 bucks for an OS to have to revert to another OS that's older yet costs about the same? That sux

Yeah, that does suck. I wasted time with Vista, and was afraid to go to W7 for a while. W7 is absolutely stable in my experience now. I have heard some serious BS with W8. I would totally downgrade (upgrade) to W7, if I were in your situation. W7 Home Premium OEM is only $89 at B&H.

It sucks that Windows is not like Cubase, where you actually own the license to every previous version...

That's unlucky, Dark Star.
First rule of upgrading - Don't be a guinea pig. ;)

Yeah, like me with Cubase7! Though, I just solved all of the issues I had, with a simple procedure. Something that should have been caught/recommended/figured out by the developers.