External Hard Drive Purchase Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using Western Digital drives for 2 decades with 0 failures. Knowing how to perform routine maintenance on a drive and spotting the early warning signs of failure helps.

I will never own another Western Digital drive. Not since i had three separate drives quit in one day.
Maybe i'm not so good at the 'care and feeding' -- which might be good to know -- but WD is off my list.
Completely superstitious, totally illogical, and bordering on irrational. Yes. I accept that. But like it or not, even with inanimate objects there exists a 'trust' and WD has broken that trust.
I still have the drives. If i could recover them myself (without big $$) i might be inclined to be less bullheaded about it.

I don't think there's any use in comparing brands when talking about external drives. You don't know what's inside. There might be another brand of disk, or even another brand of USB controller some day.

Among some drives this is true. Repackaging goes on with everything from cars to cellphones. But some drives keep it all under wraps. I pay a few extra bucks for a Toshiba because I've been told, and for now believe, they keep a better eye on things than the wholesale clearance brands.

Before getting flamed, yes, i realize this is nothing more than Ford/Chevy talk. But we all go with what works, whether it's brand loyalty or brand avoidance, either can be indicted equally.

P5