External A/D converter with Roland VS 1880

famous beagle

Hey y'all,

I came across a Roland VS 1880 for almost free, and I've heard people get the best results with these things when using an external A/D converter to bypass the on-board pres. I've never done this before, and so I'm not exactly sure what's meant.

Is this basically saying:

1. Use an A/I interface that has a digital out (the Roland has S/PDIF in and out)
2. Run your external pre into this A/I and then go out the digital out to the Roland's digital in?

If so, is it possible to use just the break-out box of a PCI interface (like the Echo Gina, for instance) without the PCI cable? Or does it need the cable to work at all, even if you're not recording into the computer?

Hope this all makes sense.

Thanks!

Edit: Oh, now that I think about it, I guess you'd need the PCI cable for the breakout box to access the mixer software so you could route which signal would be going to the digital out, huh?

So, your S/PDIF will be stereo. Hard drive has a special connection. There is a converter that will convert the HD to an SD card, but because of the OS on the Roland, it has a size limit (not sure how much) and Roland uses a proprietary format. But they make a converter for it so that you can, record on the Roland to the SD, slip that into the computer and bring it strait into Reaper for example.

But understand, unless you have a SCSI drive, the above is about the best way to get it to the computer.

So, your S/PDIF will be stereo. Hard drive has a special connection. There is a converter that will convert the HD to an SD card, but because of the OS on the Roland, it has a size limit (not sure how much) and Roland uses a proprietary format. But they make a converter for it so that you can, record on the Roland to the SD, slip that into the computer and bring it strait into Reaper for example.

But understand, unless you have a SCSI drive, the above is about the best way to get it to the computer.