Equipment picking up radio station!

bsnalex

Hi,

First post to the forum and I am a real novice at all this. I hooked my piano up to my equipment and when using my headphones to monitor the sound i noticed the equipment was now picking up radio. Specifically 1215 AM (Absolute Radio in the UK). I can't for the life of me figure out why, as everything has worked fine when it was guitar and microphone.

Equipment:
Piano: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120
connected via the speaker out using a standard 6.5 mm Fender FG10L cable (10 ft amp patchcord)
into a
Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, connected via USB to
Toshiba Satellite P300 running windows 7
Audacity 2.1.2

Using personal earphones connected 3.5mm to 6.5mm adapter into the 2i4 monitor jack

Any advice that can be given would be most appreciated

Thanks

That happens to me too once in a while. I don't know why. It doesn't happen often enough or last long enough for me to be bothered to figure it out.

Spoke to Yamaha and they'd never heard of this. The only thing their tech support suggested is using a balanced patch cord instead of unbalanced. Will report back.

Try a balanced cable. If that doesn't work, it might be a ground problem (earth problem)