Disabling PCI steering in Win 2000

Hey guys,

Sorry to dredge up old news, but I thought I'd bump this because I'm having similar problems I think.

I am NOT a techie, and know nothing about how to do any of this stuff.

I have a Toshiba Satellite laptop, and even with my old soundcard, when I opened up Sonar, it gave me this error message described in the earlier posts, about the format not being supported or in use by another application, or whatever it was. Now, with my new Layla24, same problem.

I'd really like to be able to use WDM drivers. Last night I had it all installed, no luck, used the MME only, and it still would not let me do it. This sucks, because I don't know how to troubleshoot this, and I can't be messing around inside my laptop. No experience, no braveness.

Anyway, it looks like all my audio/video stuff is on IRQ 7, and I don't know what I should do, AT ALL. I don't have an XP install disk, just the restore disks that come with the computer. This has XP home, and I have the XP office upgrade.

I don't know what kind of info you should know otherwise. Happy to tell you, but I don't know what to offer that is useful for anyone out there, with regard to my system.

I have not tried to do this without re-installing. Since it didn't really work for anyone else, I don't know if I should start messing with this stuff. I really don't know crap about IRQ or anything else--I just want to be able to record some music.

I rolled back my system to before I installed the Layla drivers, and am waiting to do anything, until I can figure out what the problem might be. Haven't called Echo, haven't called Toshiba, don't know who to call. Anyone have any ideas on what my next step should be?

By the by, though I haven't tried to record through it yet, my PC desktop installation went without problems, but that was Windows 98se, and I can't use the WDM there either.

Please help?

Kirstin