Digital interference/whine when mixer is connected to PC - also shocks

Robby Suavé

I posted about this here years ago, but I'm going to bring it up again with new information because I don't think it's just a matter of it being a mixer and not an audio interface.

I'm no expert, obviously, or else I wouldn't be asking. But I'm wondering if I'm getting interference from something. The way the audio sounds, it sounds like something is interfering with it. Like it's not just a constant buzzing or anything. It's more of a stuttering. It does it no matter how I'm connected to my PC: USB or the red and white audio cables to the mic in jack.

Here's a sample recording. The whine actually gets louder and more high pitched when I begin recording. That seems weird to me too.

Another thing that makes me think it's something else is that I'm getting slightly shocked by the metal pickguard on my guitar. Even if my amp isn't turned on, if I play the guitar, I'll get shocked. What could be causing that? And would it also cause the whining in my recordings?

That is digital noise. I get that exact sound when I have my internet computer input on with my Mackie Big Knob. Not sure how to fix that. I don't use both computers for recording or live use.

Sorry I am no help other than knowing the sound.

Yes that is the classic USB mixer 1kHz and all the harmonics whine!

You cannot prevent it but you should be able to push it down into the noise floor.
Windows Sounds menu will allow you to set the recording level, my bet it is at 100%. Set for 5% or even less.

You have probably already have been told that a decent $100 audio interface will be better and free of this crap?

BTW. I cannot now attach .png files. I am certain HR allowed this up to a few days ago? Right Mark analyser defaults to save as .png and I have posted shedloads of spectra in the past.
I had to ScrnPrnt this one then save it in Paint as .jpg!

Dave.

Attachments

• Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg