Digital Converterr Box or Multichannel PCIe

bemo

I've been doing multi-track recording now for going on 15 years now but it's usually been laying down a scratch track with the whole band playing and then going back and overdubbing each instrument individually and recording the drums to one track because I could not get separation for each drum on the kit.

Well I want more control over the drum mix and need a multi (8 minimum?) input device to do that. I have been having a devil of a time finding just such a piece of hardware. I'm finding a ton of multi channel OUTput devices, ostensibly for surround sound purposes, and most of the multi input boxes seem to have too few inputs (I believe 8 is the most I have seen).
I have a 24 channel mixer with DIs on every channel and a 9 piece horn band with BU vocals so the more inputs the merrier. I mean the pro studios must have a solution for this dilemma. Ideally, I'd like to be able to get 18 or 20 tracks recording simultaneousyl, but that will probably not happen on my budget.

I'm not even quite sure how to hook up a box though I guess I could figure it out without too much trouble. It just goes into any available USB 2.0 slot, right?

Do they even make internal cards that do what I'm thinking of? I guess I'm just growing obstinate in my old age and I fear change;)

FWIW I'm using Win10-64/4G 2.9GHz Quadcore

Tascam etc. make USB recording interfaces that will record 8 mics at once to separate tracks, typically including the mic preamps and monitor mixing that makes using a mixer redundant.

That said, I routinely record on a setup that uses a 24 channel mixer with 18 channels of simultaneous record and 4 channels of return from the DAW. The interface is an older MOTU setup with a PCIe host card and two I/O modules, theoretically capable of 48 inputs with the current two modules.

And the mixer will record to 18 discrete tracks through the PCIe card? Am I getting that right?