A/DC to USB: Best Path from Focusrite ISA One Digital to USB.

DavidW

Hello – extreme noob here, so thanks for being gentle. I’m looking for a bit of advice on a link in my voiceover home studio signal chain.

From mics (Neumann TLN103/Avantone CV-12) to a Focusrite ISA One DIGITAL (e.g. it features the Focusrite ISA Stereo ADC (24-bit/192kHz A/D Conversion Card for the ISA One Microphone Preamp with AES/EBU, S/PDIF, and ADAT Connectors.

The link I’m looking for is to get from the Focusrite to my DAW (Reaper) run off a 2015 Macbook (no fan, runs silent), which features just one USB-C input, though I have adaptors for other USB.

So, I’m seeking audio interface from the Focusrite’s digital outputs to the Mac’s USB input. As my needs are very simple, I’m looking for something bare bones, but that won't degrade or waste the (presumably excellent) Analog/Digital conversion that the Focusrite ADC is doing.

What can I get away with? Would a Zoom U44 – which has a S/PDIF optical input and USB output – do the trick? Is there something even simpler? - e.g. would just a 9 PIN to USB adapter cable work, or is there something more subtle going on than that?

Thanks so much for your guidance!

David

Ya, B&H is good for many things. Box of film and dark room stuff behind me and a digital recorder to my right

You would think there would be a simple S/PDIF in to USB converter? Not that I can find. However, whilst the digital to USB conversion as done by many AIs* cannot, AFAIK introduce any quality issue there is the VITAL D/A conversion to consider. Matters not one jot or pimple HOW good the ASI and its converters are if you cannot preserve that quality in the monitoring chain you are up a human waste water course without means of propulsion.

So, whist you COULD use the excellent for its money Alesis i02 Express as a S/PDIF input device I think you need rather better on the D/A side?
As ever...NI KA6 or better.