DAW choices aka too many!

Joemexistrat

Looking for a DAW for recording guitar/bass, with eventual keyboard. I've looked at the choices etc, but want more personal opinions. I'm not a total nooblet when it comes to recording (well video) that is. So I get the basic premises of the function. I've used Sony Vegas/Adobe Premiere for some video projects in the past. For me I think the items listed as follows.

1. PC or Mac - Doesn't matter, 20 years in IT so hardware won't conquer me.

2.Stability - I'm guessing most DAW's are fairly stable whether on Windows or OSX (I know some DAWs are OS specific).

3.Visual/GUI - What DAW isn't going to want me to put my fist through my monitors? ?

4.Hardware/Interfaces - Driver dependant I know, loaded question. I've read on some interfaces with crap drivers
5.Workflow - Will any one DAWs workflow be better vs another or is it all subjective to ones own abilities of basic fundamentals and understanding?

6.Support - They all seem to have decent forums etc, but will anyone have better support via the developer? Aka slow ass ticket resolution?

7.Price - Seems some DAWs are quite expensive, many will fit into my budget so no worries there.

Anything I'm leaving out? Gimme some feedback guys. Way to many options and I'm not looking to demo multiple DAWs over days of fiddling lol...

Joe W

I have the following setup.

1. Apollo Twin from Universal Audio for recording guitar and bass. Super easy to use and there are tons of videos on Youtube from connection to setups. Their plugins are also killer!
2. Pro Tools Cloud Subscription

If you have a good computer for dedicated audio use, that's what I'd start with, and not choose a platform for the DAW. Most can run on either, except Logic Pro, which is Apple/OS X only. (LPX is a bargain for $200, but you likely will pay more for the computer if you don't already have a Mac.)