Conversion ??? From PC to Mac

Bonz

Hi ~ I currently use a PC PA/P4 which I built strictly for music applications ..not connected to net. I desperately need to upgrade my Processor/Memory.

Before I get advice on what I should look into .. I wonder if running a Mac would be a better way to go. I have never used a Mac before however I'm reading that Mac is far better for Midi/Analog recordings.

Keep in mind that I have Cubase PC SX3 PC ver. so if I convert to Mac, I suppose I will need to obtain a copy for Mac (???) or since I have a PC version, what gig processor should I get to be comfortable right now?

I do lots of vocals & guitar work.... occassionally, I will get flutter while recording or skipping or whatever this program is doing...

What is the problem your having now with your PC? Are you runnign a lot of plugin's?

I've said this a thousand times...computers are like hammers, they make no difference in your sound. If you already have all the gear you desire and you have a great sounding room and monitoring then perhaps you might like the feel of the Mac hammer over the PC one. But most of us are always in need of more gear or building a room etc..

I'm not up on the latest prices but Macs have always been overpriced. Figure out the difference you can save by going PC and then you can spend that money on more gear. :cool: just my opinion

I'd love to know where this myth about Macs being somehow better for multimedia applications started.

It's about time it was squashed though as it's entirely without basis in fact!

Codmate said:
I'd love to know where this myth about Macs being somehow better for multimedia applications started.