Contemplating audio interface upgrade -- need your advice!

Seanzilla42

Okay, so here's the deal -- I'm wanting to upgrade my current system to something that's better than what I'm currently using, and would appreciate your feedback very much. I've been a MIDI developer for years (in the past), but have decided to get back into doing more of it. Lately, I've just been noodling around on my keyboards, guitars, and such. The problem is, that the interface stuff that I'm using isn't quite doing the job that I want it to, and I believe I can obtain better sound and control with something of a higher quality caliber.

Current system: Behringer Xenyx 2442FX mixing board // Behringer UCA-200 USB interface (plugs into mixing board's CD/TAPE input/output via RCA) // M-Audio Uno USB MIDI interface // Cakewalk Sonar Professional 8 // Customized HP computer with Intel Core 2 Quad - 3.0 USB (aftermarket PCI card) and Firewire (native to MB).

The benefit of the current system (Behringer UCA-202), is that it allows me to use the metronome during recording, but doesn't actually RECORD the clicks. However, I'm not too satisfied with the overall quality of the sound (it's fairly decent), but I think it could be better.

I've looked at Focusrite, M-Audio, Tascam, Presonus, and the like. But...where to begin? I don't really need to record multi-tracks and instruments, and a stereo out (RECORD) would be fine. I just need to make sure I can connect my keyboards and Synths (Korg Triton Pro Extreme, Roland SC-880, Roland A-33) through the new unit, while at the same time being able to record the sound output via the mixer.