clicks and pops are plaguing me...please help!!!

sims531

Ok I just signed up to this site cuz I've been checkin out some of the forums and you guys really sound like you know what you're talkin about and I've got a question I could really use some help with. Whenever I try to record my guitar into my computer, the wave is plagued with random clicks and pops that I can certainly hear but don't show up in the wave file. This is pretty true of anything I try to record onto my computer wether it be from an internal or external source. I'm a long time musician but I'm really quite new to the home recording scene and though I've got a decent grasp on the whole thing now, I can't get this one problem solved. WHEW!!!...well there you go...here's what I'm running...CPU-Intel celeron PPGA 466MHz, Maxtor DiamondMax 10.2 GB Hard Drive run @ 7200 rpm, 64 MB RAM, Sound Blaster Live! MP3+ sound card. I dunno if you need all that but I thought I'd be thorough. Oh yeah and I'm running my guitar through my marshall through my SM57 through my Eurorack MX802A mixer and straight from there to my card.

I don't think it's digital dist. cause I've messed around to no end with all the levels I could possibly find.

I really appreciate anyone who takes the time to read this and any info you could me would be a great help!
THANX!!

Is it possible that you are recording at too high a level and getting clipping in the tracks? What software are you using? Does it have level meters? Make sure the meters stay below zero. In digital audio you can not exceed zero db levels. Unlike analog where you can sometimes go into the red and still get satisfactory sound, digital is unforgiving. You must stay below zero.

Also, make sure the Eurorack is plugged into the line in on your sound card and not the mic input (if the sound card has one).

Hope some of this helps.

Nope....