Buying new PC - please help

RichyRich

Need advice. Getting new PC soon

I'm a musician (drummer mostly) who jumped in to recording. I know little – year or so in to it - but have really come a long way. Getting great results and having tons of fun.

this is what I currently have...
Presonus FireStudio Project - 10 x 10 Firewire interface – 8 XMAX PreAmps
Cubase Studio 4
ToonTrack - EZ Drummer - dfh Expansion (Drumkit from Hell)
Behringer B2031A external monitors

I've been using my home PC - Long story short I need to get a machine dedicated to only this type of stuff. I'm not a computer wiz - troubleshooting, when the need arises, is very painful. So, I'd like to do this and keep it simple and painless.

I've done a little homework. Also, I'm trying not to spend over $1200. It will run on XP (32 or 64?)

This is what I've come up w/ for a wish list so far...
Asus P5Q-EM intel g45 chipset
Core2 Duo E8400 3.0G
MWave 4GB DDR2 800
WD 500gb WD5000AAKS SATA2 16mb 7200rpm

Other component include…
LIAN LI PC-V350B (black) mini micro atx tower
ZALMAN cnps7700-cu pure copper base cpu cooling fan
COOLER MASTER extreme power 500w ATX 12v v2.01 ul & fcc ATX power supply
(x2) KDS K-22B2W 22" widescreen LCD 1680x1050
LITE ON IHAS220-08 20x superallwrite SATA+lightscribe

I have little knowledge with this. This list is from what I’ve gathered previously on these forums – don’t know about compatibility but was told this stuff is compatible.

I’d also like to get an another internal HD – not sure how many Gigs - was thinking 80 ???
Do I need XP64??? Or is 32 okay

All help is greatly appreciated. Please advise. Thanks in advance, rick

MWave will also assemble the box for you for approx. $75 which is money well spent if you have never done it before.

I don't think you need a 64 bit operating system. You can use more RAM with one but if you do decide to get one make sure there are 64 bit drivers for all your hardware.