Best budget audio interface

evilmonster18

Hey everyone,

So I'm going to buy a pair of JBL LSR305 studio monitors and I'm also looking for an audio interface to use with them.

It has to be a USB interface. I'm only going to use as kind of an intermediary between my laptop and the speakers. I'm not going to plug any MIDI controller, instrument or microphone to it. I have no interest in input ports besides the USB port, and the only output ports I need are for my studio monitors. I'd prefer they were TSR/XLR for the balanced connection, but RCA is okay as well.

I don't have a well defined budget, but I'd say less than 100$.

I've been researching a lot about this already and I ended up with three audio interfaces that fit my needs without any unnecessary extras:

- Lexicon Alpha Studio;
- M-Audio M-Track;
- Behringer U-Phoria UMC22.

If you guys have better suggestions, please mention them. I'm not an expert at all in this.

Last edited:
If you are SURE you won't need the extras...https://www.andertons.co.uk/audient...MIq9Of-dy91wIV5p3tCh3VvwqBEAYYAiABEgLytPD_BwE

Excellent name for audio/converter quality and the 'Big Knob on Top' is much handier than a dinky front VC. Also ALWAYS go for XLR or at least TRS BALANCED outputs. At its price I did not expect that JBL to have balanced inputs but it does! Use them.

Other AI reccies? Presonus 96, if really strapped, the Alesis i02 Express is very good for the money.

N.B. If you run the JBLs and an AI with the laptop powered up you MIGHT get a hum/ground loop problem (proved if it goes away on battery power) Panic not, fixable.

Dave.

So, basically you just want a D/A (digital-to-audio) device to drive some more expensive speakers from your laptop? The [lowly] Behringer UCA202 will probably do what you want, at least until you do decide you want something with inputs!