auto tune

jimtzu

i recently came across an old version of auto tune 1.3.. currently using sonar 3. is it compatible or even worth messing with? and if so, how does one use it.

yes it works fine with sonar 3, don't really udnerstand the rest of your question though- have you read the manual?

It's supposed to help out singers who "mess up a note or two" and sing them a little off key. But it can sound really fake when used on someone who can't sing. You're better off without it, IMHO.

Rokket said:
It's supposed to help out singers who "mess up a note or two" and sing them a little off key. But it can sound really fake when used on someone who can't sing. You're better off without it, IMHO.

It's great for BVs IMO.

It's also good if you use it sparingly on a lead that you don't want to drop because other than one or two tuning problems, it's a great take.
I'm no expert, but I think the mistake people make is to use it over a whole track, when it becomes really noticable. I tend to use it on just one or two notes - and very carefully too. I tend to cut the portion I want to autotune out of the main track, put it on its own track and then put the autotune on that track. Usually the portion is very small. I apply the autotune with great care - playing with the settings and specifying the note(s) required via midi.

I think if you're careful with it, it can be a great tool. As with all these things if you don't use it with great care it can sound rubbish.

I know Marius De Vries is a fan of it, so it can't be all bad ;)

Rokket said:
You're better off without it.
Seconded. Nothing like a dose of 'auto tuning' to ruin a perfectly good vocal. The 'bad' notes are not so bad if the singer can carry a tune at all.

And you'll probably waste enough time getting it going to write a couple of new songs...

Autotune is a tool like compression or reverb and just like reverb or compression, it can be used badly. I use it surgically, NEVER over a whole track.