Audio interface + Headphones help

Joseph Whittle

Hi guys

Advice needed. I bought some DT880 headphones (32 ohm version). Even at 32 my old Roland UA25 USB interface can't power them. So my question is:

- any recommendations for a powered headphone amp?

OR

- Given that the interface will need updating when I buy a new computer (its not compatible with W10 as far as I know), any recommendations for an interface that also powers headphones?

Only thing I'd say is I'm a hobbyist, so please no "this kit is good, costs 2 grand" recommendations

Cheers!

Joseph

Hi guys

Advice needed. I bought some DT880 headphones (32 ohm version). Even at 32 my old Roland UA25 USB interface can't power them. So my question is:

OR

- Given that the interface will need updating when I buy a new computer (its not compatible with W10 as far as I know), any recommendations for an interface that also powers headphones?

Only thing I'd say is I'm a hobbyist, so please no "this kit is good, costs 2 grand" recommendations

Cheers!

Joseph

Hi Joseph and welcome! When you say the UA25 'can't power them' do you mean they don't have enough level for your needs or that they don't work at all? I shall assume the former.

The DT880s are on the low sensitivity side at 96dB SPL for 1mW but that translates to only 0.178 volts rms so either something is broken or you are deaf! (my AKG K92s have a 113dB/mW sensitivity and I AM deaf but they give me all I need at 37% out of this HP laptop) . But, there IS an operational problem with headphones and AIs...

We know we should be tracking at -18dBFS? Good. Trouble is, a track at neg 18 is a bit low on cans and very often there is no more gain in the system to boost the level. N.B. This is a lack of GAIN not power!

Solution? An external headphone amplifier. I have the Behringer HA400 and for £30 or so I cannot fault it. Feeds 4 sets of cans with individual level pots AND gives a bit of gain solving the AI cans conundrum.