Audio Device Preferences Question

Robert27191

Apologies if this is in the wrong section.

*Deep breath*

I have recently bought Focusrite's Scarlett 2i2 interface. Up until now, I have been using an Alesis io2. I ALWAYS have the Audio System set to ASIO.

Now, when I connect the Scarlett, in Options>Preferences>Audio Device, under the 'Asio Driver' tab, I have two options:

One reads 'Asio4All v2' - which is what it said with the Alesis io2.The other option read 'Focusrite USB 2.0 Audio Driver'.

When 'Asio4All vs' is selected, the Inputs and Outputs tabs all read 'Scarlett 2i2 USB 1' or 'Scarlett 2i2 USB 2'.

When 'Focusrite USB 2.0 Audio Driver' is selected, the Input and Output tabs read 'Input 1' or 'Input 2'.

I have attached two screen shots, showing the differences if the above isn't clear. The first picture shows 'Asio4All v2' selected, the second shows 'Focusrite' selected.

Could someone please explain what these options are and which one I should use? I am a fair novice at this and so really don't know which is the one I should go with. Would appreciate any comments.

Many thanks!

Robert

Focusrite USB 2.0 Selected.jpgASIO4ALL v2 Selected.jpg

Use the Focusrite one. ASIO4all wraps the WDM drivers in the ASIO protocol so you may struggle with latency later on down the line. ASIO4all is a generic ASIO driver to convert WDM (Windows Driver Model) drivers for use in ASIO-driven audio applications.

Cheers :)

Thanks for the very quick reply!
I had heard that ASIO is the best driver to use? Is this not the case? And is Focusrite a WDM?

When you select the ASIO4ALL driver, then it is asking you what audio unit do you want to use. It could be the internal card or the scarlet. When you use the real ASIO driver, it is for that unit only (Focusrite as that is a dedicated driver) so the second configuration is for outputs only.