Any one tried Apple's Garageband software?

lehnherr12

I'm a recording neophyte and am looking at the different computer platforms (Mac, PC) and different kinds of software (ProTools, Cakewalk, etc.) for a modest home recording unit.

A friend of mine recommended I take a look at Mac's Garageband software, which comes in its iLife '04 bundle. I was wondering if anyone has tried it. As a novice, I am a bit daunted by programs like ProTools, and something like Garageband seems to be more geared toward the entry-level user.

If anyone out there has tried it, what are its pros and cons? I'm a bit afraid that even though it might be a good program for the novice user, I'm afraid I might outgrow this software rather quickly.

Any thoughts?

i have tried it on my friend's PC and i personally am not very satisfied. now i am very picky about my music and if i want it done, i find a way. that's why around here they call me "Man of A Million Questions". anyways, it's pretty nice for entry level software, but as u said, u WILL outgrow it quickly.

Pros:
1. supports MIDI (which is more than i can say for the software i started using 3 years ago.
2. Vocal Recording enhancements (so if u suck at singing, click 3 times and no longer)
3. Softsynths including Drums, Guitars, and a couple hundred instruments and a shitload of effects for those instruments (including a Jam Pack of even MORE instruments and like, 2000 more loops for just a little more)
4. Easily Organized Loops by instrument, style and key.
5. A very easy recording interface and overall program interface
6. A pretty good set of mix effects to start with

Cons:
1. Works better with the around half a grand to a grand worth of accessories listed on the site, including USB headphones (?)
2. No Staff View (aren't i weird)
3. only for Macs (sorry all u mac users out there i'm more of a PC guy, to each their own.
4. Not enough mastering capabilities.

but remember, it DOES have a pretty interface. :D

garageband