Antelope Discrete 4 versus Scarlett? Worth upgrading?

BoneDigger

I am currently using a Scarlett 18i8 with a Shure Sm7b and a Blue Bluebird for recording Americana and country music. My DAW is Mixcraft 8 Pro and I have a nice liquid cooled tower PC with Windows 10. My monitors are Yamaha 8".

Would the new Antelope Discrete 4 be likely to give me noticeably better recordings than my Scarlett? They can be pre-ordered for around $900, and they seem pretty cool, but I'm just not sure if I would be likely to see a serious upgrade in sound quality?

Would you go for the new Discrete 4 or stick with the Scarlett?

I have no personal experience with Antelope products, much less that specific model. I doubt that many home recordists do, since Antelope is marketed more towards the professional crowd. But Antelope are highly regarded for their converter quality. No idea about their preamps, but I would be willing to assume that they'd be very clean and accurate. I'd recommend that you buy one from a retailer with a good return policy, and give it a workout first-hand. If it revolutionizes your sound quality, keep it. If not, send it back.

It's a very appealing box though. If I were in the market for a new interface, I'd definitely have an eye on that one.

The features and price make it borderline esoterica for me. There's another thread around here on the progress (or not, perhaps) of AIs, and while this is priced above the lot that many of us get by with, it's still, IMHO, the kind of thing that, boy, I would have to have everything else really together to think it *might* make a difference.

I like [MENTION=22368]Tadpui[/MENTION]'s idea - get one and try it out.

P.S. Do you have any links to what you record? How do you get by with those 2 mics? Is it all track-at-a-time recording?

If you ever used any Aardvark Audio products...then you know what/where Antelope Audio evolved from.