Analog workflow gone wild: 8-track reel-to-reel + SSL channel strip

aguynamedben

Hi! I'm a software engineer and I code on computers for 12 hours a day. I also write and record music and put out albums (not just tinkering for fun). When I get home I just can't look at a computer anymore. I don't want to get my MacBook out of my backpack to work on songs or lay down tracks, and I'm willing to take on constraints if it helps me avoid computer screens. Here's what I want:

- 8-track (or 16-track) reel-to-reel recording workflow. I'm okay with the limitations of 8 tracks. I'm okay with hitting a button and waiting to rewind. I'm okay with punching in. I'm okay with not being able to comp a vocal. I'm okay with digital recording, I'm not an analog purist, I just don't want to look at a screen.
- 8-track (or 16-track) mixing with EQ and compression. SSL is the gold standard because the dynamics and EQ are in one simple interface and on every channel. I'm okay committing to a sound and not having every last effect onboard. I just want to be able to EQ/compress each channel during mixing. Ideally I'd have an SSL channel strip/fat channel for mixing and that's it. I can do all other effects on the way in.

How I see my options:
- Presonus SudioLive Series III. Lacks non-live recording capabilities (?). Amazing mixing with fat channel, so-so recording capabilities geared for live recording (at least it seems, somebody correct me if this fulfills my dreams).
- Tascam Portastudios (DP-03 or DP-24). Lacks compression on non-input channels. These look perfect except they don't have compression on each channel. Given my preference for simplicity, not having compression during mixing makes me sad. I could use the DP-24 with an outboard compressor, maybe that's the best option. If the DP-03 had compression on each channel (or the Zoom R-16 did) that would be ideal.