Advice on Recording Computer and Interface

Idiomatic

Hi, I am an aspiring engineer about to buy my first home studio rig. I have been spoiled by the Digi 192's, Sony MCI console, and quad-core Mac that we have in the studio at work. I definitely do not have that kind of budget for a 'HD' system, but I would like to get some measure of quality from the rig I am going to buy.

My budget for a recording computer, software, and interface/converter is around $2500. I'm not 100% sure what specs are "good enough" or most important in regards to multi-track recording, but I'm basically looking for i3, i5, i7, with 4gb+ ram, and a 7200 rpm drive. Currently, the laptop I have is a core i3 (2nd generation), 5400 rpm drive, and 6gb of ram. Do you think this is enough to handle most recording tasks, or should I invest in something better? Are there any other essential specs I should be considering? My recording needs are 10-16 tracks at once, with as little latency as I can afford, haha. To give you an idea of what I'm looking for, I know I can't achieve necessarily the same quality as a HD system, but I'd like to get something better than a basic rig. Some options that I have been considering are:

- Recording Computer - (budget around $1000-1200)
1. Mac Mini, either i5, or i7, with an upgraded 7200 rpm drive, and upgraded Ram (I think it's 8 gb).
2. A custom built Windows PC tower, with as many cores as I can get for under $1000 (not sure where to find one, any suggestions would be appreciated). I figure getting a PC would give me more value, even though I prefer working on a Mac.

- Software - ($600)
1. Pro Tools 9. The only software that I am really considering is Pro Tools 9, especially if it's a PC.

- Interface/Converter/Pre's - ($500-1000) (Realistically, I can only afford something with 8 analog inputs for now, but I would need something that would allow me to expand to 16 inputs eventually, via SPDIF etc. My output needs would be at least 4.)
1. MOTU 896 Mk3