Advice on a cheap microphone and mixer

jgalun

I am a college student without a lot of money who is looking to get a cheap (>$300) mixer and microphone combo to do some recording with the computer. I want to record simple pop/rock songs, involving an electric guitar, an acoustic guitar, a bass guitar, singing, and occasionally an electric keyboard. These are very straightforward songs - three chord wonders with simple bass lines, not much complex guitar work, not very big range on the vocals, etc.

Basically, what I am looking for is something that will get the job done with decent quality. I am not trying to make professional quality demos, obviously.

Thanks in advance for your help!

If you will be recording the tracks separately and wont be micing a real drumkit, then you wont really need a mixer....most people use the mixer mainly for its preamps and you can get a single channel preamp (Art Tube MP) for $99....from there, a Shure sm57 will do good on vocals for $79, but if you want to step up in quality a Marshall MXLv67 or Studio Projects C1 are good condensers....if you are in a noisy environment these condensors will pick up EVERYTHING so go with the sm57.....

You are absolutely right, I meant <$300. I'm a bit tired today... :)

So I get preamp and a mic, and there is a line from the preamp into my computer's audio card, right? And electric guitars can be plugged directly into the preamp and from there be recorded into the computer, skipping the amp, correct?

Thanks for your help, as you can see I'm a complete novice at this!

Yep, youll go straight from the preamp's output to the line input on your soundcard.....you can plug mics and electric guitars and bass into the preamp.....if you do have an amp, you could always mic the amp or take a direct line out (if the amp has it) straight into the soundcard...the sm57 is one of the more frequently used guitar amp mics in the pro studios so thats no problem.....