adat and syncing effect on sound?

scopus

hey im new to using adat and recorded a bunch of material not synced between my rme interface and external instrument. Both were set to master. Only recently learned that the external should be set to slave and only now interface displays sync. The recorded material sounds ok but im worried perhaps i could have gotten better quality if they were synced ? so thinking about rerecording everything but itll be a lot of work so need to know if will be any benefit at all doing so. what does syncing/having the external as slave do exactly and how does it effect the sound?
thanks

Are you talking about the digital clock sync...and which is master which is slave...?

Each digital device has it's own internal clock...and if they are all set to the same sampling rate, in theory, everything should be in time.
However, there is always some very minor clock drift between devices...so usually one is set to be the master clock, and the other one follows it (master/slave).

If you had them both set as master, they were on their own internal clocks. If there was significant drift...you could get digital jitter in the transfer of digital data from one device to the other...but it would have to be really significant to be audible. If everything sounds good to you, move on...and next time just set one to be the master. :)

I'm curious about what you're useing;
between my rme interface and external instrument.
Like a digital keyboard ourput perhaps.
Anyway, what I've only found with clock problems is manifests as clicks in the audio. And it's very obvious, easy to hear.

Are you talking about the digital clock sync...and which is master which is slave...?

Each digital device has it's own internal clock...and if they are all set to the same sampling rate, in theory, everything should be in time.