240 GB SSD or 1 TB HHD ?

GtrGtrGtr

Hi there again recording guys and gals .

I am at building a new home computer studio. That said I was after an "all in one " computer on e-bay but lost the bid . I'm glad I did after further reading on this informative site. I am new to this style of recording and although the software(Cubase 8 Pro) requirements are exceeded by this laptop Im on now , I want to get a faster ,dedicated desktop to use in the studio alone.

I am looking at a few but some have 240/250 SSD's and others the 1 TB HHD. They also both are equal in ram at 16 GB's . I am fond of Win 7 so that will be my OS but perhaps Win 7 Pro.

Question: Which will serve this purpose best ? Although the SSD is smaller as the GB's go I hear it may be best ? I'm a bit computer friendly but not one to build my own so I'm letting a pro do it so please respond with anything off topic of SSD and HHD too. The computers I am looking at say they are dual or three monitor ready ,having never needed more than one monitor.

I really at this point can only imagine why and weather this appointment is needed...

Capts log 3/2016.. Tascam 1800 / Tascam 750CDRW/ Cubase 8 pro/Rane HC6/ Furmin power cond/M-audio studio monitors(Older purchase) and an RTA Producer studio desk is in transit so as of now I have nothing on line yet till desk arrives.

Thanks again to the many here that are basically helping me build this new venture with me -Steve:thumbs up:

Last edited by a moderator:
I know that different members around here do it different ways, but what I've become accustomed to is using a smaller SSD as my system drive. This drive has Windows installed to it, and all of my applications. Then I use a larger HDD as a data drive. I record straight to my data drive.