18i20 and a patchbay, new to computer recording and to rack mount

devilduck

updating my recording process, i am new to audio interfaces, been recording my music for 15 years. feeling like its a whole new/different game. :drunk:
im going to be getting an 18i20 and i would like to use a patchbay to lessen the amount of time spent under my desk. is there a certain type of patchbay to be looking for for an interface like this? school me...please!

It would be nice if the patchbay had enough of the right kind of holes! What else do you want to know? Are you integrating this thing with existing hardware gear? What, how, and why? Help us help you please.

As Ashcat said, probably need more information. If it is just connections, I would keep as much out of the chain as possible. Looks like a nice interface and some of the reviews were very complimentary. I like the fact that you can add an ADAT interface to give you 8 more connections for 16 total.

I understand not wanting to have to wade in an out to make the connections, but for less money, you could make your connections build a holder rack for your cables (probably label them) and just have them ready to go without having to crawl in the back and just keep the two front open.

its just for the sake of not having to crawl under my desk as much. other than effects there isnt any other hardware as of now. patchbays are so cheap im not really worried about a cheaper alternative if i get the convenience out of it, and a clean looking install.