Webcor reel to reel circa 1953

Rock Star 87

hey guys, I just got a webcor reel to reel recorder. I have a couple questions, if I may:

1. 7 1/2 VS. 3 /34
2. Which output, I have 1,2,3,4?
3. When I hold fast and set to left or right, it doesn't go any faster. I have no tape yet, so I'm running it empty just to get a feel for it.
4. What type of tape should I buy?

I appreciate any and all input, as I'm completely new to this type of recording.

Attachments

• 100_1552.jpg
    100_1552.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 342
Rock star,

This machine looks cool and it is a "Reel to Reel", but honestly this machine is well dated and I'd doubt if anyone on here could give you advice on this. With all due respect, when I first got into analog recording I bought a few of these Older units too because I didn't know any better, they were cheap, and I thought they were cool looking, but unfortunately, I don't think this is going to be a very useful tool for you. I would imagine it only records on 2 tracks (if it even works) and probably doesn't sound very good considering it's age. Also, finding a tech or ANY info on this (like how to repair, calibrate,get spare parts, etc... yourself) is going to be next to impossible and if you're serious about recording with analog, this is what you're gonna need. I'd save up a little dough and try getting yourself at least something as new as an 80's era recorder or 70's era that has little to no use on it. Maybe try for a Tascam, Teac, or Fostex unit. You'll have WAY better luck finding parts (as well as other info) for the Tascam and Teac units. Cheers!

All negative and no positive!!