Teac 80-8 [Project](Newbie)

YoungCoconut

Hi! I'm new to this forum; it's wonderful to meet all of you, and I wanted to ask for some help. I'm a bit new to analog recording; I was very fortunate to acquire a Teac 80-8 from my local store alongside the Teac 3 Tascam Series Mixer. The tape machine is in really good condition the previous owner didn't let it collect too much dust over the years, and the heads work great. It came with a half inch tape reel, the owners manual, this catalog, and the service manual and I've been looking through them a lot to get the linguistics behind tape recording down.
So of course, the issue. The only issue I seem to run into is that I've been trying to record a simple drum and guitar track, the recordings never seem to line up for some reason and I tried as much as I could to resolve it. I record the guitar first then the drums, and every time I listen back to it on my monitors the drums just seem to be off. I thought of multiple possibilities of why this could be off, but from my personal lack of experience I wanted to ask what you guys think could be wrong. Something tells me that this issue is really easy to resolve and I'm just breezing over it, but who knows.
And again, wonderful to meet you all!

Last edited:
Hi YoungCoconut--- When you record --are you recording off of the SYNC Head
another words the "NORMAL Button must be depressed on your 80-8?
If you record off of the Playback head MONITOR Button on your 80-8
your tracks wll be out of Sync. Easy to have happen at first.

1. record -- normal button
2. playback -- normal or Monitor button

Jack :)