Teac A-3440 not Playing, but will FF and RW

YetAnotherFrank

Hi, before we go any further, I'm a complete newbie. The story so far...

Been given a Teac A-3440. Powers up, meters on. Will FF or Rewind, but will not Play or Rec, with any combination of the buttons pressed or unpressed. I have checked the operating manual and the tape is threaded correctly, all buttons are in the suggested default settings and the take up arm (?) is operating correctly.

Having carefully opened up the back, on the basis of the service manual, it is obvious that the dangling, sad, limp capstan belt, hanging off the flywheel, requires replacement (where would I get one without being ripped off??), but I would like to know if something more is wrong here, before I go incrementally buying bits in 'aha, well, if it's not that, then it must be this' mode.

The, erm, motor that drives the belt, is whirring away happily (if a little heatedly), but this is obviously not turning the capstan. I have looked closely at all the fuses (that I can see) and they appear to contain intact wire strands.

Pressing Play literally seems to do nothing - nothing changes. Nothing starts, nothing stops. No clicks of relays or anything. The tape lifters do not move up, neither does the pinch roller. (Man, it's amazing the lingo you can pick up trawling forums, :) )

Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated. I hoping I've missed something really dumb, as I hear great things about his machine.

Thanks.

Frank

Hi Peritus,

Well it's a different model and a different problem, I think. It talks about how the thing will play 'if I give it a little help'. In my case, nothing is moving into place to be able to play - the tape lifters stay where they are and the pinch wheel goes nowhere, so the tape's not even in contact with the heads.

Thanks for your input, though.

Frank

YetAnotherFrank said:
Hi, before we go any further, I'm a complete newbie. The story so far...